Government of Saint Lucia
Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Two Saint Lucians on newly established OECS copyright association

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
Overseas Missions
The Constitution
The Staff Orders
Collective Agreement
Photo Gallery

National Television Network
Watch NTN Live

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases
About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help


Wednesday 6 April 2011   Writers within the OECS states now have legal representation.  The Eastern Caribbean Copyright Licensing Association, (ECCLA), has been incorporated in the OECS.  ECCLA was established to ensure that creators and publishers of printed works are protected and remunerated for the copying of their copyrighted works.


At its first meeting, held in Barbados at the end of March the members ratified  the by- laws together with a three-year business plan, which includes a membership drive.  The meeting also agreed to foster  business relations  with Jamaica Copyright Licensing Agency, (JAMCOPY) that would guide  ECCLA's  administration during its start up phase.


The establishment of ECCLA grew out of a series of consultations sponsored by the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) and the International Federation of Reproduction Rights Organisations (IFRRO).


ECCLA  will be managed by a Board of Directors comprising: President - Dr Simon Jones-Hendrickson of Saint Kitts and Nevis, Vice President - McCarthy Marie of Dominica, and from Saint Lucia Secretary - Lydia Elliott and Treasurer - Michael Fontenelle.


The new organization is head-quartered  in Castries Saint Lucia.

 [Site Help]

2011 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.