Government of Saint Lucia

Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Saint Lucians selected for UWI Scholarship Awards

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
Overseas Missions
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network
Watch NTN Live

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases
About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help

Contact: Rose Marie Harris


Monday, August 24, 2009 –  Thirteen Saint Lucians have been awarded University of the West Indies scholarships for the 2009/2010 academic year. Keiran Prescott-Joseph and Androy Emery were selected for the UWI Regional Endowment Fund (UWIREF) scholarship to study at the Faculties of Humanities & Education and Pure and Applied Sciences respectively. The UWIREF scholarships carry either full tuition and maintenance costs or tuition only. They are available to citizens of any of the UWI’s contributing countries who are first-time applicants qualified to read for an undergraduate degree and are awarded annually.


The Arthur Lewis Awards went to: Krishna Clarke, Shanika Layne, Nerissa Pitt, Charice Williams, Skeeta Carasco, Naomi Charles, Cindy Jn. Baptiste, Charmaine Joseph, Ina Joseph, Sherwin Scott and Malica Willie. The Arthur Lewis Awards are open only to nationals of the OECS and are for full-time study towards a degree in any discipline with the exception of law and medicine. They are tenable at the Cave Hill campus of the UWI. 


The value of the Award includes economic cost and tuition fees for a period of three years. Candidates are selected based on demonstrated capacity to complete their course of study, academic merit and financial need.


The award programme was designed to boost the number of students from the OECS attending the UWI and is meant to honour the memory of Saint  Lucian Nobel Laureate Sir Arthur Lewis, who served the UWI at various periods as an academic, a principal and a Vice-Chancellor. A maximum of thirty (30) awards are made annually, exclusively to OECS nationals.

Home ] Up ] [Site Help]

© 2009 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.