Government of Saint Lucia

Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

New Cabinet of Ministers sworn in

horizontal rule

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network
Watch NTN Live

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases
About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help
Subscribe to NEMO News
Updates to Hurricane Frances

Weather Information Service Number

(758) 454-3452

Wednesday, December 20, 2006 – A new Cabinet of Ministers was sworn in on Tuesday December 19, to run the affairs of Saint Lucia for the current electoral term of the United Workers Party.

Prime Minister The Right Honourable Sir John George Melvin Compton who was sworn in at Government House on Friday December 15 introduced his Cabinet before the members took the oath of allegiance, the oath of office and the oath of secrecy provided for in section 66 of the Constitution of Saint Lucia.

“We are now entering very challenging times in which the tide of globalisation is washing our shores. If we are not only to survive but to prosper, we must adjust our thinking and our actions to these times. In my choice of the persons to help us to chart our course through the troubled times, I have sought to choose 'horses for courses', the Prime Minister said.

The Cabinet of Ministers announced by the Prime Minister comprises the Honourable Dr. Keith Mondesir – Minister for Home Affairs and National Security; Honourable Richard Frederick – Minister for Housing , Urban Renewal and Local Government; Honourable Arsene Vigil James – Minister for Education and Culture; Honourable Lenard Montoute - Minister for Social Transformation, Human Services, Family Affairs , Youth and Sports; Honourable Stephenson King – Minister for Health and Labour Relations; Honourable Ezekiel Joseph – Minister for Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries; Honourable Guy Eardley Joseph – Minister for Communications, Works, Transport and Public Utilities; Honourable Rufus Bousquet , Minister for External Affairs, International Financial Services, Information and Broadcasting.

Five Senators were also included in the Cabinet of Ministers . They are Senator the Honourable George Guy Mayers - Minister for Trade, Industry and Commerce; Senator the Honourable Allen Chastanet - Minister for Tourism and Civil Aviation; Senator the Honourable Ausbert d' Auvergne – Minister for Economic Affairs, Economic Planning, National Development and Public Service; Senator the Honourable Gaspard Peter David Charlemagne – Minister in the Ministry of Education and Culture; Senator the Honourable Charlotte, Elizabeth, Theresa, Tessa Mangal - Minister in the Ministry of Social Transformation, Human Services, Family Affairs, Youth and Sports responsible for Human Services and Family Affairs.

Completing the Cabinet line up are the Honourable Marcus Neil Nicholas – Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries and the Honourable Edmund Estephane – Minister in the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Commerce.

The functions of the Cabinet shall be to advise the Governor General in the Government of Saint Lucia. The Cabinet shall be collectively responsible to Parliament for any advice given to the Governor General by or under the general authority of the Cabinet and for all things done by or under the authority of any minister in the execution of his/her office.

horizontal rule

Home ] Up ] [Site Help]

© 2006 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.