Government of Saint Luca

Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Govt Appoints Energy Task Force

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases

Saint Lucia 25th Independence Celebrations

About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help
Subscribe to NEMO News
Updates to Hurricane Frances

Weather Information Service Number

(758) 454-3452

Contact: Prime Minister's Press Secretary

Tuesday, October 18, 2005 - The Government of St. Lucia has appointed an Energy Conservation Task Force to advise Cabinet on ways and means of energy conservation and consumption in these times of continuing fuel price rises.

The Task Force will, among other things, also recommend strategies to ensure that St. Lucia has an adequate supply of energy in the short term and in the long term, as well as make recommendations to ensure that St. Lucia maximises energy efficiency and explores the production of renewable energy.

The Energy Task Force will also act as a body to engage in discussions with the Venezuelan authorities on the PetroCaribe initiative and to recommend measures to maximise potential benefits accruing from this initiative.

Members of the Energy Conservation Task Force are: Mr. Louis Lewis of the Ministry of Finance; Mr. Evaristus Jn Marie of the Petroleum Dealers Association; Mr. Trevor Louisy of LUCELEC; Mr. Michael Sewardor of the Ministry of Communications, Works, Transport and Public Utilities; Mr. David Cox of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; and Ms Judith Ephraim, the Sustainable Development Officer in the Ministry of Physical Development.

The Task Force is expected to hold its first meeting soon.

Home ] Up ] [Site Help]

2005 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.