Government of Saint Luca

Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Twenty-four St. Lucians receive Independence Day Medals

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases

Saint Lucia 25th Independence Celebrations

About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help
Subscribe to NEMO News
Updates to Hurricane Frances

Weather Information Service Number

(758) 454-3452

Contact: Julita Peter

Wednesday, February 23, 2005 - Chancellor of the Order of St. Lucia, Governor-General Her Excellency Dame Pearlette Louisy, has announced appointments to the Order of St. Lucia in respect of Independence Day 2005. Twenty-four St. Lucians received awards in the seven classes namely, The St. Lucia Cross, The Medal of Honour, the Medal of Merit, the Les Pitons Medal, the National Service Cross, the National Service Medal and the Public Service Long Service Medal.

The Order of St. Lucia Investiture Ceremony is a major feature on the calendar of events in observance of St. Lucia’s Independence Anniversary.

The island’s highest award, the St. Lucia Cross was conferred on Charles Cadet and Julian Hunte for distinguished and outstanding service to St. Lucia. With those honours the title Honourable now precedes their names.

The Medal of Honour Gold was bestowed on Brother Dominic Brunnock and Romanus Lansiquot for eminent service of national importance to St. Lucia.

The Medal of Merit Gold went to Anne King and Dr. Louis Louisy for long and meritorious service in the field of education and medicine, respectively, while for the Medal of Merit Silver was bestowed on Alban Antoine for education and Sixtus Charles for the arts.

The Les Pitons Medal Gold was given to Julia Hennecart for long and meritorious service in the field of education; Frances Marileen “Lady Leen” Baptiste in the field of culture and the arts; and Mary Jane Augustin in the field of education and community development.

The Les Pitons Medal Silver was bestowed on Clement Etienne and Julian Innocent for long and meritorious service in the Public Service, and Percival Combie in the field of agriculture.

The Les Pitons Medal Bronze went to Carrol Devaux for long and meritorious service in the development of swimming and life saving, and Joseph Simeon for selfless contribution to community life.

The Public Service Long Service Medal was awarded to Sheila Jeanne Eristhee and Georgiana Straughn for teaching; Assistant Superintendent George Modeste and Sergeant Anthony Lubin for police work; Deputy Chief Paul Charlery and Sergeant Raymond Philgence for air and sea ports; and Assistant Divisional Officer Lambert Charles and leading fireman Matthew Severin for fire emergency services.


Home ] Up ] [Site Help]

© 2005 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.