Government of Saint Luca

Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Saint Lucia Prepares to Observe 26 years of Independence

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases

Saint Lucia 25th Independence Celebrations

About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help
Subscribe to NEMO News
Updates to Hurricane Frances

Weather Information Service Number

(758) 454-3452

Contact: Virnet St. Omer-Fontenelle

Wednesday, February 2, 2005 - Saint Lucia’s twenty-sixth anniversary of Independence will be observed on February 22nd under the theme “Working Together With Pride to Build Our Nation”.

A number of events have been planned to mark the observance, including a National Ecumenical Service on Friday 18th February at 2:00pm at the Minor Basilica of the Immaculate Conception; the National Sports Awards scheduled for the National Cultural Centre on Saturday 19th February at 7:30 p.m. and a concert of Praise and Inspiration to be held on Sunday 20th February at 5:00 p.m. at the National Cultural Centre.

The Royal St. Lucia Police Force and other uniformed groups will stage the annual Independence Day Parade at the Mindoo Philip Park on Independence Day starting at 9:00am. Independence Day will also see nominees for national service awards receiving their various honours at the Order of Saint Lucia Investiture Ceremony to be held at Government house from 3:00 p.m.

Other activities planned include the St. Lucia Athletics Association Independence Track and Field Meet at the National Sports Stadium from 10:00 a.m. on February 22nd, and a number of community activities island wide.
Independence celebration began with activities to mark Nobel Laureate Week from January 23rd to the 29th. Nobel Laureate Week highlighted the achievements of Nobel laureates Sir Arthur Lewis and Honourable Derek Walcott.

Sir Arthur Lewis was awarded the Nobel Prize for Economics in 1979 and Honourable Derek Walcott received the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1992. Both Sir Arthur and Honourable Walcott were born on January 23rd.

Home ] Up ] [Site Help]

© 2005 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.