Government of Saint Luca

Go to Homepage


[Contact Us]

Search this Site


OECS Heads of Government Meeting Postponed

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network

Press Releases
Saint Lucia 25th Independence Celebrations
About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help


Friday, November 07, 2003 - The 38th meeting of the OECS Authority, scheduled to take place in St. Lucia, November 10-11, has regrettably had to be postponed. And the authorities are in the process of making arrangements to hold it on a new date which will be announced shortly.

The OECS Secretariat has announced that three Heads of Government are unable to be present because of illness. Additionally, the Prime Minister of Grenada would also have been absent due to his country’s approaching general selections, set for November 27th.

Decisions at meetings of the OECS Authority are arrived at by consensus. Therefore the Heads of Government felt that the very important matters on the agenda for this meeting require the full presence and input of all Heads.

This meeting was expected to agree on measures to further advance the movement towards an OECS economic union, including common OECS Citizenship, and the common OECS passport.

The Heads were also due to examine the level of implementation of the OECS Development strategy which will guide the future economic development of the sub-region.

Several critical issues involved in current international trade negotiations, such as the proposed hemispheric Free Trade Area of the Americas, were also down for discussion.

The Heads were also expected to give their approval for a number of cooperation initiatives which offer wide-ranging benefits to the people of the sub-region. These include stronger OECS/Puerto and OECS Guadeloupe relations.

The OECS is a grouping of the nine Member States of Antigua/Barbuda, Anguilla, the British Virgin Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, St. Kitts/Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

For further information please contact

Kendol Morgan

Senior Communications Officer

Tel; (758) 452-2537 ext: 8120; Fax (758) 453-1628; email:

[Home] [Up] [Search 2003 Press Releases] [Site Help]

© 2003 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.