Government of Saint Luca

Go to Homepage


[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Prime Minister Announces Senate Changes

horizontal rule

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases

Saint Lucia 25th Independence Celebrations

About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help


August 23, 1999 - Pursuant to the authority vested in him under Section 27 Sub-section 2 (e) of the Saint Lucia Constitution Order, Prime Minister Dr Kenny D. Anthony has advised the Governor General to revoke the appointment of St. Lucia Labour Party Senators Rick Wayne, Patrick Joseph and Tessa Mangal.

The Prime Minister, who is also Leader of the St. Lucia Labour Party, this morning telephoned the three former Senators and advised them of his decision, and thanked them, on behalf of the Government of St. Lucia and the St. Lucia Labour Party, for their services.

Prime Minister Anthony has also announced the appointment of three new senators. They are: Mr. Petrus Compton, an Attorney at Law, businessman Mr. Leo Clarke, who is also General Secretary of the St Lucia Labour Party and Mr. Perry Thomas, the Chairman of the National Conservation Authority.

Mr. Compton, who has held the position of Attorney General, has resigned from the St. Lucia Public Service to take up his new appointment as a senator and Government Minister in the Office of the Attorney General.


horizontal rule

Home ] Up ] Search for Press Releases 1999 ] [Site Help]

2001 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.