Government of Saint Luca

Go to Homepage


[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Labour Ministers Proceeding On Annual Leave

horizontal rule

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
St. Lucia Ambassadors
The Constitution
The Staff Orders

National Television Network

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases

Saint Lucia 25th Independence Celebrations

About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help


August 23, 1999 - Several Government Ministers are about to proceed on leave, in keeping with an earlier pledge to take all annual leave due to them.

As a result, Health Minister Honourable Sarah Flood-Beaubrun will soon begin her annual leave and in her absence, the Acting Health Minister will be Parliamentary Secretary Menissa Rambally.

Community Development, Culture, Local Government and Cooperatives Minister Honourable Damian Greaves will also be proceeding on leave and Parliamentary Secretary in that ministry, Honourable Jon Odlum, will be Acting Minister in his absence.

Prime Minister, Honourable Dr. Kenny Anthony, who is due 66 days leave, will proceed on an overseas holiday from August 24 to September 12. In his absence, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Education, Human Resource Development, Youth and Sports Honourable Mario Michel will be Acting Prime Minister.

Ministers in the Labour Administration took a pledge immediately upon taking office in 1997 that they would take leave due each year, rather than opt for collecting pay in lieu of leave, as did the ministers of the previous government.

The UWP Ministers, shortly before the last general election, arranged for them to be paid close to one million dollars for what they said was accumulated leave spanning a period of ten years.


horizontal rule

Home ] Up ] Search for Press Releases 1999 ] [Site Help]

2001 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.