Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site

Government of Saint Lucia




Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
Overseas Missions
The Constitution
The Staff Orders
Collective Agreement
Photo Gallery

National Television Network
Watch NTN Live

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases
About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help



Contact:  Office of the Prime Minister



Monday, March 30, 2012 - Consistent with the announcement by the Governor General, Her Excellency Dame Pearlette Louisy, in the Throne Speech at the opening of the First Session of the Tenth Parliament of Saint Lucia earlier this year, the Government is pleased to announce the appointment of the National Heroes Commission.


The Commission, whose mandate is to identify persons living or dead, upon whom may be conferred the Honour of National Hero, is chaired by Mr. Adrian Augier.  Mr. Augier, who is well known for his contribution to Arts and the Creative Industries in Saint Lucia and the region, is also a former Director of the Saint Lucia Chamber of Commerce and a former Chief Economist in the Ministry of Finance and Planning.


The Commission is jointly appointed by Her Excellency, the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition. It comprises the following persons:


  1. Mrs. Veronica Simon-Secretary
  2. Hon. Dr. Robert Lewis
  3. Senator Hon. Dr. James Fletcher
  4. Dr. Rosemarie Husbands-Mathurin
  5. Mrs. Barbara Jacobs-Small
  6. Mr. Lucius Ellevic
  7. Hon. Arsene James
  8. Senator Lenard Montoute
  9. Mr. Adrian Augier(Chairperson)


Prime Minister Hon. Dr. Kenny D. Anthony, commenting on the appointment of the Commission stated, :  I am very pleased that the Government and Opposition have taken action to ensure that those exceptional individuals who have toiled tirelessly for the betterment of our great nation are honoured. This is part of our collective desire to reshape our political landscape, moving away from the divisiveness which has destructively dominated the operations of national institutions towards a spirit of inclusiveness and due recognition. Many have served with distinction, honor, commitment and selflessness and so we must recognize them as our heroes for without their contribution we would not be the nation we are today.


The appointments are for a period of three years and took effect from March 13th , 2012.

  [Site Help]

2012 Government Information Service. All rights reserved.

Read our privacy guidelines.