Go to Homepage


[Site Map]

[Contact Us]

Search this Site


Government of Saint Lucia

 Officers and Committee of the Order

Governor General
Prime Minister
The Cabinet
The Senate
House of Assembly
The Constitution
Overseas Missions
The Staff Orders

National Television Network
Watch NTN Live

Saint Lucia Gazette
Press Releases
About Saint Lucia
Frequently Asked Questions
Web Links
Government Directory
Browse by Agency
Site Help

Next ]



1) The Governor-General, who by virtue of his Office shall be charged with the administration of the Order, and in his custody shall be confided the Seal of the Order, which he shall affix to all Statutes, Ordinances and Instruments according to the Regulations touching the issue of every of the said instruments.

2) In the absence of the Governor-General, the person for the time being performing the functions of the office of Governor-General shall discharge the functions of Chancellor of the Order.

3) The Private Secretary to the Governor-General shall be Secretary of the Order and shall maintain the records of the Order, arrange for investitures and perform such other functions in respect of the Order as the Governor-General shall direct from time to time.


1) There shall be a standing National Awards Committee for the Order hereinafter called "the Committee" comprised of:

a) A citizen of Saint Lucia appointed by the Governor-General after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition who shall be Chairman of the Committee.

b) The Chairman of the Public Service Commission.

c) The Chairman of the Teaching Service Commission.

d) The Commissioner of Police.

e) Three persons representative of the General Public appointed by the Governor-General of whom two shall be appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister and one on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition. Such appointment shall be for a period not exceeding three years from the date of appointment but the persons shall be eligible for reappointment.

f) A member of the Committee appointed under sub-paragraph (a) of this section shall hold office for a period not exceeding three years from the date of appointment but shall be eligible for reappointment.

2) The Committee shall have a Secretary who shall be appointed by the Prime Minister.

3) A vacancy in the membership of the Committee shall not preclude the Committee from carrying out its functions.

6. A person shall not be a member or honorary member of the Order by reason only of his being a member of the Committee or an official of the Order.

7. The Committee shall:

a) Consider nominations of persons of merit who are citizens of Saint Lucia together with recommendations and supporting material received by the Committee for awards of the Saint Lucia Cross, the Medal of Honour, the Medal of Merit, Les Pitons Medal, the National Service Cross, and the National Service Medal;

(b) compile separate lists in respect of each grade, and where applicable each class in such Grade, of those nominees to whom an award may be made;

(c) forward to the Prime Minister the lists compiled pursuant to paragraph (b) with its recommendations respecting awards;

(d) advise the Governor-General in respect of any matters concerning the Order referred to it by the Governor General for consideration.

On receipt of the Committee’s recommendation, the Prime Minister shall advise the Governor-General to make, on the Sovereign’s behalf, such awards as he considers appropriate.

Next ]


© 2013 Government of Saint Lucia. All rights reserved.